small bits and pieces…

I have spent a great deal of my time carving stamps this past week.  I have a large piece of  “the pink stuff” that I mentioned in the post below…but I’m saving it for when my carving improves.  I carved more stamps yesterday but haven’t taken photos of those yet.  I’m showing the first ones I carved.  I couldn’t believe it, our local Wal Mart ran out of the white erasers. Friday, I made a trip to our Staples (an hour away) and they had white erasers in a pack of four but I thought they were way expensive.  I did purchase  two packs and hope that WM will get some again soon…I mean….why pay over 8o cents per eraser when I can buy one  for sixty-one cents? 

I added more to the background that is in the post below.  Only one journal page in a week?  That’s all I could squeeze in this week.  I used lots of regular colored pencils, acrylic paints,   some spray paint, and some poster pens….yep, I threw everything but the kitchen sink at it 🙂  And after all that, I liked the  background best! 

I also finished another quilt block.  When I finish the quilt block I’m working on…I will have sixteen completed blocks.  I’m getting close to having enough blocks to put them together.

 

6 thoughts on “small bits and pieces…

  1. Janet January 29, 2012 / 12:40 pm

    I love the journal page! And your stamps are so cute. Too bad you don’t have a dollar store close by…I get five erasers for a dollar at ours. And sometimes they have those huge pink erasers for a dollar! When I find one of those I can carve both sides because it’s so thick.

    Like

  2. Andria January 29, 2012 / 7:27 pm

    Your stamps look great! I really like the leaf and the one with the lined triangle…I think it is so amazing to be able to do a journal page that features your own hand-carved stamps!

    Like

  3. Emelie January 29, 2012 / 7:31 pm

    Everything is so exciting, your a good carver.

    I have been buying foam sheets at Walmart and drawing on them with a pen, drawing deep to make a groove, then painting on them and pressing ythem to fabric. If you go visit me you can see the birds I did on Sat.

    Like

  4. kofegeek January 29, 2012 / 11:24 pm

    wow..blue hair..just like a tale 🙂

    Like

  5. spilledinkguy January 30, 2012 / 10:53 am

    A page a week sounds impressive to me! I’d be lucky to finish one a month!
    Very, very nicely done, too, of course!
    And the stamps are very cool, Mary! Nice!
    🙂

    Like

  6. Kim Mailhot January 31, 2012 / 6:14 pm

    I have been carving some stamps a bit lately too. I love using ones I have made myself – uniquely mine !

    It looks like you have a fun bunch to play with there !
    Love all the bits you shared – the blue girl especially !
    Have a great week !

    Like

Leave a comment