Pages and Quilt Blocks…

I have been working on my quilt, mainly in the evening hours while watching TV.  We are boycotting American Idol this season…no special reason…we  got tired of devoting all those long hours watching every week and getting “sucked in” by all the AI hype.  Anyway, I have two finished quilt blocks to post.

I am also working on my stamp carving class.  I’ll have some stamps to show you later in the week(I hope).  I finally got my Dick Blick order.  I ordered a Speedy Carve Stamp Block as suggested by Julie, but it’s going to have to be AMAZING for me to order it again.  A 9×11 inch sheet of it was almost $21.  I will use those cheapy erasers…my problem is that I can’t find any  that are big enough…I’m still looking.  I also can’t find the Master Carve blocks by Staedtler.  I ordered some from Dick Blick about two years ago but I found that they no longer have them. If anyone knows where to purchase some Marster Carve, please let me know. 

I have also been working on my BOD journal this week.  I call it that,  but I’m doing my own thing…and that’s an ok thing too 🙂  I really enjoy watching Effy’s videos.  This first photo is the collaged paper background(shown in my last post),  after painting, stamping, and writing all over it.  I’m trying to figure out what else to do with it.

This next photo is a journal page I did yesterday.  I started by sketching the face with my non-dominant hand on a phone book page.  I glued it down on the journal page.  I used acrylic paints and colored pencils.  I used several layers of paint thinned down with acrylic glaze medium.  I wanted it to look more whimsical but it is what it is.  I think I should have stopped several layers ago.  If it takes one longer than an hour to do a page in journal, you are probably spending way too much time (I’m talking to myself here).  I did finish with some new markers that also came in the DB order.  They are Letraset Aqua Markers.  The jury isn’t in on them yet…to me, they are about the same as using those less expensive Crayola markers. They are water-based and have dual tips.  I think Traci Bautista mentioned that she uses them and that’s the reason I wanted to try them.

Here are  my two finished quilt blocks:

6 thoughts on “Pages and Quilt Blocks…

  1. Janet January 22, 2012 / 12:23 pm

    I’ve never watched American Idol so I guess I’m boycotting it too! I’m not much for reality TV or any of the competition shows.

    Love the quilt blocks! I think the blue one is my favorite. And I agree with you about not spending too much time on a journal page. The face looks sweet and innocent to me.

    Can’t help on the Master Carve product. Have you googled it? I know how it is to not be able to find supplies locally. I have to order much of what I use, too.

    Like

  2. lee January 22, 2012 / 7:29 pm

    loving your pages, and your quilt block, I am doing my own thing as well on BOD .

    Like

  3. Andria January 22, 2012 / 9:32 pm

    Wow, you are working on so many different creative projects and with so many different media right now! I love those quilt blocks…lovely! That is a pretty hefty price tag for stamp carving….good luck finding a more reasonable option for the future.

    Like

  4. Aimeslee Winans January 23, 2012 / 12:16 am

    What creativity blooms here! Hey Mary, I got my Speedy Carve at ASW.com. If it is between them and Jerry’s, the prices often are the same and ASW has a flat $7.95 shipping. Jerry’s is tied to price and when I compared my order their shipping was like $10.95. A 6×12 block was $10.90 + s/h, I think. I also bought a ton of those Staedtler white plastic erasers — 4 for $2.99 at Office Depot.com.:
    http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/120451/Staedtler-Mars-Plastic-Erasers-Pack-Of/
    This was the cheapest price I could find.

    Like

  5. spilledinkguy January 23, 2012 / 11:17 am

    I know how exactly you feel…
    I love walking into Blick (but my wallet sure hates it)!
    Wonderful pieces, as always, Mary!
    🙂

    Like

  6. April Cole January 24, 2012 / 3:37 am

    So beautiful… love it all!
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful talents. ((hugs))
    So wonderful to hear you are a part of BOD. Me too… :]
    I am really enjoy the project.
    I loved seeing your journal pages, beautiful work.
    oxox

    Like

Leave a Reply

