Doodle Journal page, etc…

I made a collage for the header above using several of the new stamps I carved.  The big doodle stamp on the far right above was inspired by the doodle journal page that I am posting this time.  I also finished another quilt block this week. I recounted and I have 18 finished blocks…yay, for me!

This week, we went to see the movie “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”.  I just finished reading the book a day or two before we saw the film.  It is a very moving story about what happened to one family after losing someone on 9/11 It’s very different from any book I’ve ever read because of the quirky photos and the type font that changes at the end of the book.  I finally figured out why I think the author (Johathan Safran Foer) did that after seeing the movie and looking at those pages in the book again.   We saw  “Everything is Illuminated”  on Netflix a while back.  It is another book,  made into a movie,  by the same author.  I also recommend that movie if you like quirky and different films. 🙂

I started the page above with torn pages from a phone book page.  I had cleaned my brush on the page….that’s why you see spots of color on the page.  I fully intended to gesso over it and do something else but changed my mind.  In the photos below you see the entire collage of the piece I made for the header….I could only use a small portion of it.

 

7 thoughts on “Doodle Journal page, etc…

  1. Janet February 3, 2012 / 7:27 pm

    Love the doodle page! I love the way you doodle. You have a style all your own.

    Thanks for the movie recommendations. We’re always looking for something to watch.

    Like

  2. Andria February 3, 2012 / 8:17 pm

    Very cool header…I’m glad you are still having fun with your stamp carving. I was just telling my husband that I might want to go see that movie…looks good to me!

    Like

  3. lee February 3, 2012 / 9:04 pm

    love the new header, and wow your stamps and pages are fantastic

    Like

  4. jenny February 4, 2012 / 9:19 am

    Janet is so spot on! You have a “doodle style” all your own, and it is fun to see. The collage looks great, and it really made a terrific header. Good job on those stamps, too!

    Like

  5. Danielle February 4, 2012 / 5:44 pm

    I read Everything is Illuminated & absolutely loved it. I didn’t care for the movie but that’s usually how it goes with me…I have heard really good things about both the book & movie you just saw. I really love how you used a phone book page & how the spots of color came to be.

    Like

  6. spilledinkguy February 6, 2012 / 10:43 am

    Love the new header, Mary!
    And EIGHTEEN?! Wow! Pretty sure I can’t even count that high (I’ve very nearly run out of fingers and toes by that point)!
    🙂

    Like

  7. Mary February 7, 2012 / 5:59 pm

    That is soooo funny, Inky 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

