Misc bits…

Fall has moved in…the weather has been gorgeous here!  The Hickory tree leaves in the backyard are starting to turn yellow and brown.  I’m waiting to see if they are going to be as pretty as two years ago when I snapped the photo you see above in my heading.  Those trees aren’t mature enough to produce nuts but we do have a tree in the side yard that has a few each year.  The squirrels take care of those almost before they hit the ground.  I was looking up information about Hickory Nut Trees and I found that Hickory and Pecan belong in the same family.  Also, Hickory Trees do not produce nuts until they are around forty years old.  Hickory Nuts are very tasty but the nut meats are difficult to pick out and it would be time-consuming to get enough to eat….best left to the squirrels, I say. 🙂

 

 

 “The Goldenrod is yellow, the corn is turning brown,

the trees in the apple orchards with fruit are bending down.”

Helen Hunt Jackson 
 

 

I have been working on my cardboard page book.  It’s slow going because I’m trying to get the pages painted on both sides before I put it together.  I’m trying for lots of texture.  I tried some powdered marble (available at Dick Blick)  mixed with water.  It goes on like gesso at first but changes to a dry powdery texture.  I’m not sure what I should put over this layer…I think I will try some fluid matte medium. 

At the bottom is another spread in my IJ. It’s a fun spread with the bookworm from the original book.   I’ve been doing lots of scribbly faces lately on notebook paper or whatever I find…here’s one with a body from a magazine model.

This (above) will be the front cover….I put a layer of molding paste on it…I will paint this mostly blue, I think. I’m looking for a bird feather to put in the window. The page below needs some gesso or white paint…it needs something.

Here’s the journal spread:

4 thoughts on “Misc bits…

  1. Janet October 11, 2011 / 7:42 am

    The new header looks great. Autumn is such a beautiful time of year.

    I really like your cardboard book. The page that’s yellow looks like it has falling leaves on it. The addition of the molding paste along with the niche gives your book lots of texture and interest.

    Like

  2. Rosie October 11, 2011 / 10:05 am

    Hi Mary!
    How lovely to see you again!! Isn’t it interesting how we ‘meet’ up in blogland every so often – and we always have new stuff to share?! I really like the cardboard journal – gorgeous texture there. I’ve never heard of paper marble, but it looks yummy!
    Keep drawing – I am too, just digitally for now! xoxo

    Like

  3. Andria October 15, 2011 / 7:01 pm

    You are using so many interesting materials and techniques in your art right now!

    Like

  4. April Cole October 18, 2011 / 11:33 pm

    Really enjoy seeing all the mixed-media!
    Great work :]

    Like

Leave a comment