Getting in the spirit…….maybe?

Christmas spirit, that is…I have the urge to bake sugar cookies, does that count?  😀  It seems the older I get,  I like to keep things simple.   I used to make Christmas cookies with my granddaughter….I miss those times.  I found a great video called “Hand Cookies.”  The video is on Design Mom’s blog.  It is well worth the visit to check out the video, plus, I really like her website, too. 

Last night, I finished listening to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.  I have audible.com on my Kindle and had some free credits to get three free books and that was one of my choices.  I have mixed feelings about the book.  I spent several hours listening to the book and was very disappointed with the ending 😦  I did read some negative reviews about it but had to find out for myself what that was all about.  It holds your interest, I couldn’t stop listening.   Other good books I have read lately,  The Dog Stars by Peter Heller(excellent book), Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin and  Wool by Hugh Howey.  Now, you see why I’m not getting many art projects accomplished here lately 🙂  I did do some drawings while listening to my book last night:

IMG_0265

IMG_0267

IMG_0268

IMG_0269

IMG_0271

IMG_0273

IMG_0275

3 thoughts on “Getting in the spirit…….maybe?

  1. Janet December 2, 2012 / 1:55 pm

    We’re trying to get in the spirit around here. Finished (finally!) decorating the big tree and now just have the small one to do. Christmas cookies are always on my list of things to do! Today it’s rainy and gray so baking might be just the thing.

    Like

  2. Andria December 2, 2012 / 8:57 pm

    Mary, I often think about these portraits that you draw on book pages, and want to do something similar myself. You have really stuck with this project and have created so many wonderful portraits in this style…very inspiring!

    Like

  3. aloveaffairwithpaper December 3, 2012 / 11:07 am

    I just bought Dog Stars & can’t wait to read it & have had Crooked Letter on my shelf waiting to be read. These are my favorite sketches that you do.

    Like

Leave a comment