Dance to the Tune

It’s not too late to wish everyone a happy new year even though we are almost to day 4 of the new year.  I’m glad that the holidays are over.  There’s only so much junk that a person can consume before one goes into carb overload. 🙂  Most people make resolutions to lose weight or curb other bad habits during the new year. 

Back last summer,  I(we) started a new way of eating. I lost seven pounds over  a period of several months and that was eating whatever I wanted during my eating period.  The way it works is that you fast during a 19 hour period  and eat only during a 5 hour period of a 24 hour day.  You can pick whichever 5 hours works best for you.  Our eating period is from 12 o’clock noon to 5 in the evening.  The Doctor who came up with this program has a book and a website if you would like to read more about it, go to:  http://www.fast-5.com/   The plan is called Fast-5.  There is a book on the website you can download  and print out for free.  I ordered Dr. Herring’s book from Amazon. Look the book up on Amazon, there are several favorable reviews.  Seven pounds doesn’t sound like a lot but I lost inches…and it’s safe because you do not lose muscle.  During the holidays, I know that I have gained back some of what I lost.  This is our first day back on it since Thanksgiving. I am actually looking forward to getting back on the plan because I feel better.  It’s actually easier for me to not eat anything during the non-eating time because when I try to cut back, I think I’ll eat  just a nibble and it’s always more than you planned.  This way, you eat ONLY  during the 5-hour period.  At first, you eat everything you can during that time but after being on the plan for a while you find that you can’t eat as much as you once did.  It takes a lot of determination and persistance to stay on this plan but after the first few days, it becomes easy to do.  If you decide to try this, come back and leave a comment and let me know how it’s going for you. 

OK—on to “Dance to the Tune.”  I named it this because it looks cheery and happy…another piece on Canson paper.  It has several layers as I didn’t like my first attempt and started over.  I dripped red oxide and dioxazine purple Liquitex acrylic ink over it along with acrylics and water-soluble crayons.  I also used a dip pen in the purple ink to draw the lines.