View From My Window

I spent a great deal of the day yesterday trying to get more acquainted with my new camera.  It’s a Canon sx200.  I took several shots, mostly in the house, as it was very cold and windy outside.  This first shot is from our kitchen window looking out.  We live right on the edge of a wooded area.  Many of the trees were damaged during the ice storm last winter;  you can see some of the damage if you look closely.  The bottles in the foreground are old medicine bottles (the snake oil variety).  They did not have screw on lids but would have had cork stopper closings.  The amber bottle, third from the right, has embossed letters that say:  MULFORD’S PRE-DIGESTED BEEF.  We think maybe it was some sort of concoction to ward off anemia?  We collect old bottles, well, hubby does, but I like them too.  Some day soon, I’ll take photos of some of our old soda pop bottle collection.

 

Meet our dog Toby…he’s the best inside dog.  We don’t need an expensive home security system…he’s it.  I’m not sure that he would harm a fly, he’s very sweet-natured.  Look at this expression:

3 thoughts on “View From My Window

  1. Janet January 26, 2010 / 2:11 pm

    LOVE your view! It must be so peaceful. HB and I would love to move out away from things.

    And Toby….who could resist that face?! Having your own built-in security system is great especially when it’s as cute as that!

    Like

  2. Diane January 27, 2010 / 7:12 am

    Love these photos, and Toby!!

    Like

  3. RDE January 29, 2010 / 7:58 pm

    Love the pics of the bottles, and Toby too of course!

    Like

Leave a comment