…art and a blue moon

My art work has been sporadic lately…I’m kind of starting to get back into it more lately. We have taken to sitting on our deck in the back yard very late in the evenings…watching the birds, listening to tree frogs, and looking at the sky. You would be surprised at what one can see in your own backyard. We have both noticed a face in a certain tree out there and last night I grabbed my sketchbook and tried to draw some funny tree faces:

tree1
tree2_0002

And we laughed a lot over this one:
tree3_0003

We’ve been seeing a big moon the last few nights. I had noticed on our calendar that shows a full moon for tonight. It will be a blue moon. I always thought a blue moon is the second full moon that occurs during the same month. This article explains that there is also another definition for blue moon. Here is a great article about it:  http://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/moon/blue-moon.html

Some more pages from my sketchbook:

ink1

s1

cb1

These are from the duct tape journal I made earlier this month:

IMG_2135

IMG_2137

IMG_2139

I had been obsessing over finding the perfect old book to turn into an art journal…or in my case “visual” journal since I do very little journaling in my journals. I found a book last week with a sewn binding (and the price was right ($2.00) at one of our local flea markets. I will try and finish the duct tape journal before starting a new one….or maybe not. Jane Davenport puts her own watercolor paper along with some of the book pages in her handmade journals. This is an excellent video showing how she does that:

http://janedavenport.com/art-lessons-cloth-paper-scissors/

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “…art and a blue moon

  1. I love your tree people! And I always enjoy seeing things from your sketchbooks. Your duct tape journal has some great faces in it.

    Now I’m off to watch that video.

    Like

Leave a Reply

