a pantyhose world…

A week ago last Friday, I went to our local “friends of the library” book sale.  I wasn’t looking for books to read…I was cruising for collage material.  Since getting a Kindle…all my reading material is on it.  I love my Kindle!  I found some old books to use for altered books or reuse the covers for journal covers.  One of the books I bought was by Erma Bombeck: if life is a bowl of cherries-what am I doing in the pits? I’d forgotten how funny she was. One of the chapter headings in the book is “A Pair of White Socks in a Pantyhose World.”  If you are over 40, you probably know about Bombeck and pantyhose. Here’s a quote from the book:

“I worry about scientists discovering someday that lettuce has been fattening all along.  But mostly, I worry about surviving.  Keeping up with the times in the world that changes daily.  Knowing what to keep and what to discard.  What to accept and what to protest.”

The above quote is from the introduction….she says this book is about surviving…it’s still applicable today…funny stuff about some serious subjects🙂

Here are my recent 4x4s:

These number 137-140:

IMG_1912

IMG_1913

IMG_1914

IMG_1915

For this set, I used pages from the Bombeck book.  The first three were drawn with my Pentel Pocket Brush Pen and the last one is charcoal and pen.  These number 141-144:

IMG_1916

IMG_1917

IMG_1918

IMG_1919

I’m not really satisfied with these 4x4s but time is running out…so, I will include them.  These number 145-148:

IMG_1921

until next time…be creative in all you do…

4 thoughts on “a pantyhose world…

  1. I remember Erma Bombeck and how funny she was. It’s always good to have a laugh once in a while and she could certainly provide them.

    I absolutely LOVE those red.4×4’s! They really speak to me. And of course the last ones are in colors I can’t resist.

    Like

  2. Your 4 x 4 are beautiful. I do the same with my Kindle and with thrift store books. I’m always amazed that the author’s words, particularly in books like Erma’s, can still apply. Isn’t it fun to find those little nuggets of gold everywhere? ;))

    Like

  3. I remember erma very well, and your work is amazing the deepness of the colors makes me smile. I want you to know, I still come here everytime you post, but don’t always comment. I love your work, and your wiliness to share

    Like

Leave a Reply

