don’t take anything personally…

Don Miguel Ruiz’s “Four Agreements:

1.  Be impeccable with your word

2.  Don’t take anything personally

3.  Don’t make assumptions

4.  Always do your best

Good words to live by, but difficult to put into practice.  I need to reread the book.

I didn’t make any 4×4’s this week… but I have been sketching again.  I change from week to week.  This first one is me (from a photo).  I used graphite:

IMG_1879

This is myself and my daughter (from a photo)…it’s not a good likeness:

IMG_1889

This is a random drawing of no one in particular:

IMG_1881

This a sketch from a Golden Book illustration:

IMG_1885

I am taking another online class that began this week.  This is an excellent class so far.  The first master we are studying is Van Gogh.  It’s on Jeanne Oliver’s ning art site.  Check out the other masters coming up in the next few weeks.  I also like that she doesn’t charge a huge amount…it’s actually a bargain.  I have already gotten more than my money’s worth from the first lesson alone.  Here is my version of Van Gogh’s sketch in a letter to his brother, Theo, in January, 1882:

IMG_1882

I’m going to try this again…something about the body proportion is off🙂

I also got my latest art book from Amazon this week:

IMG_1888

I like it…has lots of inspiration for making abstract art. The author makes this statement about the book:

“I want this book to be fun to read and easy to use without exhausting your attention span or your wallet.  I’ll keep the emphasis on making instead of thinking about making.”

…until next week

3 thoughts on “don’t take anything personally…

  1. I love your sketches. I have discovered (for the moment, any way), that I really enjoy sketching. I am still struggling with watercolors, but I do love them.

    Like

  2. You are so inspiring in your willingness to re-invent yourself at every turn. I enjoy seeing the processes through your eyes. I will check out that book. I love abstract art, maybe because my “realistic” side leaves something to be desired (or I just need to change my opinion about myself, HA!). Have a wonderful end to your week!
    ~Dawn

    Like

  3. I’ve read The Four Agreements a couple of times and enjoy it each time.

    Love your sketches! I guess I’m just hard to please because so far I’m not inspired by the Painting With the Masters class. Maybe I need to give it more time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

