more…

“We need to commit to our creative path.  I don’t mean to want to do it in our hearts or to make plans to do it.  I mean to actually do it.”  ~Sue Monk Kidd~ from The Dance of the Dissident Daughter

I did manage to complete eight more 4×4’s this week.  Only 80 more to go🙂

I have been watching some videos about doodling.  It’s a fascinating process.  I don’t like to do suggested patterns that many zentanglers draw, but prefer to let the pattern flow as I go.  That’s just me, the patterns of Zentangles are really beautiful and intricate.  The videos by Pic Candle intrigued me this week.  She does more of a cartoon style of doodling but I really like it.  I also like the little creatures that Teesha Moore  draws in some of her journals.

Here’s one of many videos on You Tube by Pic Candle:

I went off into my sketching foray but I don’t think sketching per se is my cup of tea.  I like sketching and I will sketch sometimes but to keep a daily sketch book….I don’t know if I can do that.  Collage is what I love to do most…that along with painting.  I think a  challenge for myself next year is going to be to get over my fear of painting on canvas…painting big.  That being said, I do realize that I am learning valuable techniques and experimentation from doing my 4×4 series.

Here are this week’s 4×4’s.  This first set numbers 113-116:

IMG_1838

IMG_1839

IMG_1841

IMG_1843

The next set numbers 117-120:

IMG_1845

IMG_1847

IMG_1849

IMG_1852

…until next time

2 thoughts on “more…

  1. I agree…I like using some of the zentangle patterns but mostly I like things to be more freeform. And you always do that so good. I like seeing faces pop up in your 4×4’s…something else you do so good. Let’s face it, I just simply like your art!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

