“Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.” ~Thomas Merton

I have a few things to share.  Sketchbookery class has ended but I’m still drawing and painting.  I am using student grade watercolors until I see if my interest in this medium will last beyond a few months.  I also have a Prang’s set of cheapie watercolors that work very well for beginners(me).

Here’s a chart of my Pelikan Paints. I assigned names for the colors:

IMG_1748

Charts of my other paints:

IMG_1749

Here’s a spread in my handmade booklet I mentioned in a previous post:

IMG_1729

Last week my mother had a procedure at the hospital.  I took some photos of people waiting and waiting out in the wait area.  I drew these with a brush and burnt umber(Van Gogh student paint ):

IMG_1734

This next effort is from two different photos taken of my two sisters waiting with me.  Sisters, if you are reading this, I know it doesn’t look like you….you two are much prettier and more attractive than this. Also, I know I need some anatomy drawing lessons🙂

IMG_1736

I drew this next one with a Bic grip ballpoint pen.  I was looking at a black and white drawing in Women, a pictorial archive from nineteenth-century sources by Dover Books. I had a second try at drawing the hands.  It’s still not correct but I liked it when I finished painting it.

IMG_1740

And, here’s Happy from my Happy Meal bag.  I know he’s supposed to have legs.  The Happy I was looking at didn’t have legs and I didn’t notice until I finished him:

IMG_1743

I’m so far behind on my 4×4 series.  I will have to catch up, somehow.

I can’t believe it’s the last day of July!

4 thoughts on “

  1. Oh my gosh! I am totally in love with all that you have done!! what a great time you are having honing your skill. Such great figures in the waiting area as well. Bravo!
    ~Dawn

    Like

Leave a Reply

