I’m doing…

“Every thought is a dream,  rushing by in a stream,  bringing LIFE to the kingdom of DOING”  ~lyrics from the song, Fantasy, by Earth Wind and Fire

…I’m doing….I have been doing…..just not very fast.  I joined Curves earlier this month and try and work out about four times each week.  I know I can stand to lose a few pounds but my main goal for joining is to stay flexible and keep a balance between muscle and body fat.  As one gets older, that’s important, I think.

I’m recycling an advertising booklet I got in the mail. It’s working great as a small art journal.  I painted some of the pages with gesso or acrylic paint.  Each page measures 9×6 inches.  This first page started with black paint.  I glued some college pieces from an old book.  I had drawn a face with a brush and Sumi Ink on some drawing paper.  I cut that out and glued it down on the page and altered it with Caran d’Ache crayons.  The found poetry reads:  So it was, we mastered our fears, looking back now, it was a dream.  It goes with the song quote above…I didn’t plan that 🙂

IMG_1613

This page is mainly collage.  I used a large piece of painted phone book and some other collage bits.  I had a piece of Joss paper and included that:

IMG_1617

I’m two weeks behind with 4x4s.  But not so far behind I can’t catch up soon. These 4×4’s have stamping, metallic crayon, paint, ink, markers and collage papers.  These number 65-68 in my series of 200:

IMG_1608

IMG_1605

IMG_1606

IMG_1612

It’s a stormy afternoon here and we are under a tornado watch.  I’m going to get off the computer and see how’s it’s looking out there now.

Have a good week!!!!

10 thoughts on “I’m doing…

  1. dawnsrays April 28, 2014 / 4:56 am

    Love the first one’s found poetry — really cool. And those layers and layers on your 4×4’s are incredible!!
    All the best with Curves. I hope you enjoy it, that is an important part to sticking with something like that– the enjoyment factor, at least for me, has to be HIGH.
    Have a great week!
    ~Dawn

    Like

    • Mary April 28, 2014 / 8:00 am

      Thank you Dawn for the really uplifting comment!

      Like

  2. Jenny April 28, 2014 / 6:14 am

    I saw the news last night. I hoe you are ok.

    Like

    • Mary April 28, 2014 / 8:31 am

      We had a long lasting series of thunder storms and winds but were only under a tornado warning for a short time…When we woke up the sun was shining…all is well here in our part of the state…thanks for asking.

      Like

  3. Natasha White April 28, 2014 / 2:53 pm

    Love the journal pages and the 4x4s are so filled with texture and colour. Gorgeous. I have some 4×4 panels. I should do something with them.

    Like

    • Mary April 29, 2014 / 8:24 pm

      Thank you Natasha….and yes, you should use those panels 🙂

      Like

  4. Clare Hanny April 28, 2014 / 4:34 pm

    Thank you for your visit and comment on my blog. Wow your pages are stunning too. As a Dog Lover I adore your ‘Super Dogs’ and Love your Row your Boat pages too such a lot of detail in them. Great Blog.

    Like

    • Mary April 29, 2014 / 8:25 pm

      Thank you Clare! I adore your work!!!

      Like

  5. Janet May 2, 2014 / 6:08 pm

    You’re doing a lot more than I am! We also go to the gym at least four if not five times a week and it’s kicking my butt!

    This set of 4 x 4’s is maybe my favorite. I love the colors and the subtle blending. Those little pops of yellow are perfect.

    Stay safe from the storms!

    Like

    • Mary May 4, 2014 / 10:44 pm

      We were very fortunate and had no storm damage here. Thank you for your kind words, Janet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

