…crossing the road

 

“This world is the City of Truth, its maze of paths enchants the heart:  We can reach the goal without crossing the road, such is the sport unending.” ~Kabir~

Why did the chicken cross the road? We know the answer: to get to the other side.  If only,  the chicken made it to the other side 🙂

I finished a set of 4×4’s Wednesday.  I started with black paint and dark Viridian Green on the background.  I wanted to experiment going from dark to light.  The stamping was made with some foam stamps I made a few years ago.  The collage pieces are bits of painted phone book pages.  These number 57-60 toward my goal of 200 tiny pieces of art by the end of this year.

IMG_1567

IMG_1572

IMG_1573

IMG_1574

I also ordered another new book from Amazon: Playing with Sketches: 50 creative exercises for designers and artists by Whitney Sherman.  The book doesn’t teach you how to draw but gives you ideas. Whitney calls it “calisthenics for your hands and mind, to help you break away from your norm to create a new way of thinking and mark making.”

IMG_1575

Here’s a peek inside the book.  This photo turned out kind of fuzzy.

IMG_1576

I wanted to put a link to Whitney’s website but WordPress isn’t cooperating with me this afternoon.  Do a search for Whitney Sherman, you won’t be disappointed.

3 thoughts on “…crossing the road

  1. dawnsrays March 29, 2014 / 6:35 am

    I just put this book in my Amazon cart!! it looks wonderful and full of great inspiring ideas. Thank you for the look-see.
    I like the idea of going from dark to light. When I was in my 20’s I had the idea of sitting outside under the moon light and painting the hillside. All those silhouettes and shapes just waiting to be seen in the dark…. I never did.
    Have a great weekend!!
    ~Dawn

    Like

    • Mary March 29, 2014 / 10:56 pm

      Thank you so much Dawn! I think you’ll like Whitney’s book 🙂

      Like

  2. Natasha White April 11, 2014 / 11:54 am

    Such right layers. Thanks for mentioning the book. I have made a note of it. 🙂 It looks great for ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

