…the band plays on

 

…while you worry about what each note means, the band plays on.”  ~Mark Hartley~

I finished some pages in my “Teesha” inspired journal.  I’m a bit obsessed with all the cutting and gluing.  I wish I could find the perfect glue but it’s not happening.  Teesha Moore uses Tombow Mono Adhesive tape applicators .  I have tried it,  but I haven’t mastered it yet.  I like for the edges of my collage pieces to be glued down and the glue tape doesn’t allow for that unless you run it off the edge of the collage piece.  I’m finding that Elmer’s X-treme glue stick works best for me right now.  One has to be very careful or the glue ends up on the front of the collage piece…and I don’t like that either.  My pages lack depth…I think it must be lack of shading. I’m working on that.

IMG_1554

IMG_1551

IMG_1556

Jane Davies mentioned this book as a good resource for faces….I ordered it from Amazon.  It is a book of paintings and drawings by Tina Berning:

IMG_1560

Here are a few pages from inside the book:

IMG_1561

IMG_1563

IMG_1564

IMG_1565

I’m off to work on some 4×4’s.  Have great rest of the week!

6 thoughts on “…the band plays on

  1. Brigitte March 25, 2014 / 3:21 pm

    Love your Teesha Moore style pages! For shading I love to use the Portfolio crayons, or oil pastels, they smear so nicely 😉 You just need to add them the very last, because writing over them is a horror LOL Great faces too by the way!

    Like

    • Mary March 26, 2014 / 10:00 am

      Thank you Brigitte! I’m going to try pan pastels and see how that goes 🙂

      Like

  2. dalecooper57 March 27, 2014 / 3:58 am

    Love love love your collages!
    These are my favourite so far I think.
    Superb.

    Like

    • Mary March 27, 2014 / 9:21 am

      Thank you Dale…I appreciate your comment 😀

      Like

  3. Natasha White April 11, 2014 / 11:57 am

    I think your collages are great. I love the idea of collaging like that but I really struggle.

    I am so grateful you showed pictures of that book . I saw someone else mention it yesterday and put it on my wish list. Now I need to review that and order it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

