…jumping off cliffs

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” ~Kurt Vonnegut~

That’s a little dramatic but true.  My only regrets are that I wish I had jumped off a few more cliffs….you know…taken more chances.  However, moving forward, I can do that now.  Getting to the top of the cliff is sometimes a challenge itself 🙂

Here are some more 4x4s.  These number 25-28.  Hubs asked me what I planned to do with all my 4x4s.  I’m thinking that,  eventually, I may mount some of them on 4×4 wooden artist boards.  Jane Davies is doing that with some of her pieces.

These started with acrylic ink and paint background.  I used some of my painted phone book pages as collage elements.  I embellished with pen work on three pieces.  I like doing that as it seems to give a piece a more finished look.

IMG_1432

IMG_1433

IMG_1434

IMG_1435

Here’s a page from my sketchbook.  This one started with random ink marks on the page.  Then, I embellished with colored pens.

IMG_1440

All four together:

IMG_1430

5 thoughts on “…jumping off cliffs

  1. Danielle Nelson January 26, 2014 / 5:45 pm

    These are beautiful! Loving the colors and the Vonnegut quote. One of our dogs is named after Vonnegut 🙂

    Like

    • Mary January 27, 2014 / 6:59 am

      Thanks Danielle. I’m on a yellow, blue, green cycle right now 🙂

      Like

  2. lee January 26, 2014 / 10:24 pm

    I love your work, I love the colours you have used in your body of work. Love love thempat

    Like

    • Mary January 27, 2014 / 7:01 am

      Thanks for the high praise Lee! 🙂

      Like

  3. Brigitte February 2, 2014 / 2:13 pm

    Your 4×4’s are so beautiful, and thank you for the inspiration! I really enjoy doing my weekly 4×4’s 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

