abstract…

“It has bothered me all my life that I do not paint like everybody else.”   ~Henri Matisse~

I took a chance and ordered a book on my Kindle:  Journeys to Abstraction by Sue St. John.  She takes the reader through 100 paintings and their secrets.  I love people who give away their secrets.  The paintings are all by different artists (I think).   It’s a great book and I plan to order a hard copy to have in my art library.  I’m only 42% through the book, so, by the end, I should know for sure if I want to order it.

Jeanne Oliver’s workshop I mentioned in my last post is wonderful!  Jeanne’s videos are all about Matisse…it’s almost like taking a college class…she’s so thorough.  Over a hundred people have signed up since the course started…the last time I noticed, up to 827 people.  Jeanne says it will be online for two years.  I signed up because I’m a big fan of Kate Thompson.  I’m also now a new fan of Jeanne Oliver 🙂

Here are my 4×4’s for this week:

IMG_1412

IMG_1413

IMG_1414

IMG_1415

6 thoughts on “abstract…

    • Mary January 18, 2014 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks…I hardly used yellow in my work….thought I’d give it a try 🙂

      Like

  1. Mariza January 18, 2014 / 2:59 pm

    Please let us know how Journeys to Abstraction is! I was thinking of getting it myself. I’m loving your 4x4s 🙂

    Like

    • Mary January 18, 2014 / 5:11 pm

      Thanks a lot! I will let you know if I still like the book when I finish it.

      Like

    • Mary January 20, 2014 / 11:50 pm

      Thanks for coming by….and I will check out your work 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

