some drawing fun…

I’m taking another online class 🙂  I ran across this class by Danielle Daniel. I really love it!  It is hosted by Christy Tomlinson.  Danielle has a whimsical approach to drawing faces and I really like that!  The name of the class is Her Story.  She draws with graphite,  and sometimes charcoal.  She uses a blending stick, sometimes called a stump.  Week one is about drawing….week two covers backgrounds….week three is about a finished canvas or page.  I haven’t viewed week three yet.  Here are some of the faces I’ve been drawing this past week:

I made a note of the particular drawing tool I used for each drawing on the page:

IMG_1139

close up:

IMG_1140

quick sketches:

IMG_1148

I used a Cretacolor chunky graphite stick with non dominant hand:

IMG_1145

I also have to include this drawing I call “The Wild Man”  I need lots of practice drawing male faces 🙂  I used a water-soluble graphite crayon (Lyra brand) and it looked somewhat better before I added water.  I tried to make it “better” by using some Payne’s Gray on his eyes….it didn’t work.

IMG_1144

That’s all for now….I hope everyone has a great weekend!!!

3 thoughts on “some drawing fun…

  1. Janet September 22, 2013 / 2:04 pm

    I seriously considered that class but didn’t sign up. I like the faces you’ve done…even the male face. I seldom ever try to do male faces. They seem so difficult!

    Like

  2. Danielle September 22, 2013 / 10:25 pm

    I signed up for Christy’s chalkboard lettering class but haven’t had a chance to start it yet. Your faces are so incredible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

