random…

I seem to be keeping my nose in a book (er Kindle) lately…I played in my sketchbook with some new markers I got earlier in the week and I finished a journal page.  Here’s the journal page:  Lots of layers and final embellishment with some Souffle gel pens:

IMG_1070

I tried out some new Dick Blick Studio markers…they are ok but nothing to jump up and down about:

IMG_1075

IMG_1076

 

Here are two good source books….lots of ideas for cutting stencils or doodling.  I ordered both of them at Amazon.

IMG_1078

All of these photos are from the Flowers and Plants Motifs book.  It has Art Nouveau, Art Deco and Greek motifs, to name only a few categories:

IMG_1080

IMG_1082

IMG_1083

IMG_1087

IMG_1094

IMG_1095

IMG_1096

IMG_1098

Have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “random…

  1. Janet August 10, 2013 / 4:02 pm

    That first page is amazing! I love all the colors and details you have in it. I think I have one of those books…the flower motifs. I’ll have to see if I can find it for some much-needed inspiration.

    Like

  2. April Cole August 11, 2013 / 11:19 pm

    Hello Mary… I do adore your marker drawings! :]
    Thanks for the FYI about the Blick markers, I would have thought differently other wises… will steer away from these.
    Love these books!! great motifs… put them on my amazon wish list, thanks!!
    Had a lovely visit here ~xx

    Like

  3. spilledinkguy August 12, 2013 / 10:07 am

    Beautiful work, Mary! As always!
    Stencils – that reminds me – at some point I’d like to try painting a portrait with a faux damask wallpaper background (I wish I wasn’t so s-l-o-w… my ‘to-do’ list is out of control at this point)!
    🙂

    Like

  4. twistnpout August 15, 2013 / 8:19 am

    Harmonic Chaos is gorgeous. That must have been fun applying all those layers. And thanks for the mention of the Blick markers, I have been wondering about those. And OHHHH the motif books – I could browse through these for hours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

