Happy Valentine’s Day………

Happy February 14th!  I did get some lovely red roses and a box of Dove Chocolates.  We weren’t going to fall into the commercialization trap….but he did anyway!  🙂 I’ve been busy this week preparing a journal for the round robin group that I’m participating in for the next several months.  I’ll be sharing spreads of the journals  as I receive them.  I have to send mine off to the first person on my schedule by the 25th of this month.  I am using a Canson XL Mix Media journal.  I’m not really happy with it….the paper is really thin for me….I’m used to working on heavier papers.  Here’s what it looked like before I covered it:IMG_0481

I used some phone book pages, brown kraft paper, and other scraps of paper that I painted with bold colors.  Then I tore them into pieces and glued them onto the front and back of the book:

IMG_0477

IMG_0479

This is inside the front cover:

IMG_0471

Then, I was playing around with some black paint and painted these faces….one, I tried to jazz up with a little paint:

IMG_0485

IMG_0484

   This last one, on some kraft paper, I ended up painting over her.  I tried to correct her eyes and ruined it….but I kind of liked where it was going before that happened:

IMG_0456

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day………

  1. Janet February 14, 2013 / 4:53 pm

    I’m working on my journal today. Yours looks so bright and happy, and I like the faces. The last one looks great! It reminds me of the loose style that Mystele does which I’d love to be able to do.

    Like

  2. Lynn February 21, 2013 / 11:45 pm

    Loved with you did with the cover! I have one of those journals, too. just a note ..
    One-of-a-Kind ….It needs those hyphens! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

