bits and pieces……….

I have another book recommendation. It’s Wool by Hugh Howey. My hubby and I both read it.   It was first available as  a short story on Amazon via Kindle. It was so popular that readers begged the author for more and he wrote four more followup additions to the first Wool story.  If you haven’t read it yet and you have a Kindle, go to the Amazon bookstore and get the first Wool story….it’s free.  But, I’m fairly certain, you’ll want to read more.  After we read the short story, I bought Wool Omnibus Edition for $5.99.  It’s an awesome read!!!   Check out all the reviews for Wool on Amazon.   A year ago, the author, Hugh Howey was working as a clerk in a bookstore and writing in his spare time.  I love a good overnight success story 😀  He has signed a book deal with Simon & Schuster and hard copies will be available by March of next year for those of you who still like to have the actual book in your hands. 

I have been semi-busy making backgrounds in two different art journals.  Here is a little page that I did with with oil pastels, paint, and gesso:

IMG_0318

Here are a few pages from an altered book that I was working in about  two years ago.  I wouldn’t post any of the pictures because the class was still an open class.   I didn’t feel right about posting  pictures showing any of her folding techniques she taught in the class.  The class has recently been discontinued.

The book that I altered was a Cokesbury book on how to give various showers or parties.  I cut the profile from a vintage magazine:

IMG_0331

“Avoid inviting people who are not congenial,” the first line on this page says:

IMG_0325

Girl from a fashion magazine with flower collage added:

IMG_0328

“All Ashore”

IMG_0327

2 thoughts on “bits and pieces……….

  1. april cole December 13, 2012 / 8:37 pm

    GREAT PAGES!!
    Very inspiring work.
    Collage art & techniques are a favorite of mine. :]
    Take care ~xx

    Like

  2. lee December 13, 2012 / 10:17 pm

    love your book, and i tried the fudge, gave it o my daughter for her party, on the second batch which I made tonight giving it to the neighbour tommorow. Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

