Still standing……….

We went on a road trip today.  Totally spur of the moment idea.  The leaves are starting to change colors,  so,  we decided to drive over to Mountain View, Arkansas.  We headed down Highway 56 going through Franklin and Violet Hill.  From Brockwell, we went on toward Calico Rock.  At Calico Rock, we turned on Highway 5, going south through the Sugarloaf Mountain range.  We went through Optimus, Arkansas and winding on in toward Mountain View. This craggy old tree caught my attention going to Mountain View so I made a note to self to have my driver(hubby) stop on the way back so I could take a photo of the tree……I call it

“Still Standing.”

This is where we ate lunch:

This is a little flag flying on the town square in Mountain View:

Rock formations on the east side of Calico Rock:

Here are some of my latest sketches:

6 thoughts on “Still standing……….

  1. I like the photo of the bare tree, and also the golden one where you ate lunch. Nothing here has even started to turn colors yet. It’s back into the high 80’s/low 90’s again. Looks like you had a great day. Spur of the moment is fun.

    Like

  2. love those snaps of your road trip, all the colours have turned here, and all the leaves are blowing of the trees at this moment we are having a big wind, love your drawings on paper

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing these lovely photos of your travels and art. LOL… has anyone ever told you that your art has a Chagal feel to it? Love it!

    Like

  4. Your pics are great! I think I do recall seeing those rocks now that you mention it, but I can’t remember what they call them… Just thought I would chime in and say hello and that I love the pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

