mushrooms…..lichens…..moss…..

I took some photos today (Sunday, September 16).  I wish I had a better quality camera instead of my little point and shoot Canon.  But, I think the pictures turned out very good anyway. We go for a walk almost every morning. Our route, for the most part, is heavily wooded on both sides of the little street we walk down.  Deer are always jumping out in front of us while we walk. That’s not fun because our Rottie, who walks with us, wants to chase after the deer. 

This morning we spied some different kinds of mushrooms growing along the edge of the woods. All kinds of plant life are springing out after the nice gentle rain we got yesterday.  The rain was very welcome because we have been in a drought all summer. After we walked back to our house, I immediately got into the car with my camera in hand….and here are some of the photos I took this morning:

I looked on Bing to see if I could find out what these red mushrooms are and I found they are called Red Poisonous Mushrooms (aptly named):

Two rocks with moss and/or lichen growing on them. I couldn’t resist taking a photo because they are so different.

This is a good website to find out about various plants including mosses and mushrooms and lichens:

Plant Guide

(click on any photo to see it larger)

 

9 thoughts on “mushrooms…..lichens…..moss…..

  1. LindaS September 16, 2012 / 1:11 pm

    Fantastic photos, Mary-U R talented. LS

    Like

  2. Janet September 16, 2012 / 5:18 pm

    Great photos! I use a point and shoot camera and love it. We have a nice Rebel XTi but there are too many things to set for me to use it. I like simple!

    Like

  3. lee September 16, 2012 / 6:32 pm

    I love that post, and that point and shoot took great pictures, I always wonder if those mushrooms that people pick if they know if they are poison or not

    Like

    • Deborah September 16, 2012 / 9:26 pm

      Love the photos. I especially love the red mushroom just because they are pretty colors. My hubby has a Rebel Canon big and fancy, but my telephone camera took better pictures inside the gym at a recent graduation. Na ne na ne boo boo to you D lol

      Like

  4. Shay Fourney September 17, 2012 / 6:06 am

    Beautiful shots! The nice thing about a point and shoot camera is that it allows you to focus on other things like composition and angles. LOVE the shot with the red mushroom and green fern!

    Like

  5. Danielle September 17, 2012 / 9:39 am

    Those red mushrooms are very pretty. What a nice way to start the day.

    Like

  6. spilledinkguy September 17, 2012 / 1:09 pm

    Very nicely done, Mary! Sure looks like a fruitful walk to me (well, in an in-edible kind of way, of course)! 😉 I really like all those vibrant colors… and how you’ve taken the time to change your point of view to look at the details from different / unique angles! Cool beans (er, mushrooms, anyway)!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

