a quick post…

We are having some lovely weather.  Yesterday, I tried drawing with the the droppers in the bottles of FW acrylic ink.  I used Black, Indian Yellow and Crimson inks.  Then I used a Sharpie Pen to make more marks.  Here is what it looked like before watercolor:

Here it is again after adding a little watercolor to it:

 I think I like the one with watercolor best?

Here’s another page in the old book.  I used a magazine profile and doodled around it. She reminds me of photos of women from the 1930’s.

6 thoughts on “a quick post…

  1. lee August 22, 2012 / 1:27 pm

    i think it turned out fabulous

    Like

  2. Danielle August 22, 2012 / 2:15 pm

    I like them both for different reasons, but the watercolor one definitley has mor zing to it. These are lovely as always. Hope you’re doing well.

    Like

  3. spilledinkguy August 23, 2012 / 9:38 am

    I like both versions very much… the watercolor really seems to tie all the elements together nicely…
    I really like your second piece too, Mary… she looks incredibly ‘glamorous’… just as you’ve described… feels like something of vintage Hollywood to me.
    🙂

    Like

  4. Janet August 24, 2012 / 11:31 am

    More beautiful faces! I like the idea of using the ink droppers to paint with. And the profile face is great. I always have a tough time choosing between black and white or lots of color because I like them both.

    Like

  5. Carly @ True Color August 31, 2012 / 9:12 am

    Ooooo I love the zentanglish doodles over book pages. I may have to give that a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

