The Green Shamrock and Local Color…

I found one  Irish postcard among my small collection of old postcards.  This one is postmarked 1908.  The people who touched this card have long since left this earthly plane.  The back side shows an address that the card went to Miss Mabel Galloway, 261 Jay Street, Utica, NY and is simply signed Gerald….no message, just his name written in pencil. This card was illustrated by the noted artist, Ellen H. Clapsaddle.

I took the backroad to the post office today…here’s some of our local color.  My mom grew up in this area. A few days ago, the two of us were on the same road and she was telling me about the people who lived along the road.  She knew the couple who lived in the old log cabin.  The Red Bud trees are popping out all over here in our little corner of the Ozarks.

If you double click on the first photo, you should be able to see all the photos in a slideshow format:

3 thoughts on “The Green Shamrock and Local Color…

  1. Janet March 16, 2012 / 9:14 am

    That old cabin is great…I like finding old, abandoned buildings like that. I wish they could talk and tell me what they’ve lived through.

    I love your new banner!

    Like

  2. lee March 16, 2012 / 3:07 pm

    I to love the new banner, and isnt it great that your mom knows the stories, and the history. Before my died I tried to write down the important stuff that you forget And I am glad i DID. lOVE THE postcard, even though I am not irish, I love St Pats Day, because its my birthday, and I am forever 20…

    Like

  3. Andria March 19, 2012 / 6:44 pm

    What a great postcard…isn’t it interesting how so many of those vintage postcards have so little in terms of greetings or handwritten sentiments? Can you imagine sending a postcard with just your name on it? So interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

