Watercolors & Doodles…

Nice sunny day here…nice but windy.  Arkansas, thankfully,  did escape the tornadoes that went through some states last week.

I was playing with my pens and watercolors this morning.  I was inspired by Jennifer Mercede’s work.  I was reading about her over at Pam Garrison’s blog.  Pam has posted some of her own beautiful art work…click on the link to take a look.  Jennifer has many unique giraffe doodle drawings, among others,  over at Flickr.  I attempted to draw a giraffe.  I haven’t used watercolors on it yet.  I need to see about getting a better set of watercolors…my set is  Prang…choice of eight colors.  The pen I used is a bold Pilot G-2 (07).  It isn’t waterproof but I kind of liked how the ink mixed with the watercolors.  I’ll be working on postcards the rest of the week  for iHanna’s yearly postcard swap.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Watercolors & Doodles…

  1. cavepainter March 7, 2012 / 11:20 am

    Giraffes are fun to draw. They’re pretty silly to begin with, so even if it’s not drawn photo realistic no one seems to know the difference. 🙂

    Like

  2. Danielle March 7, 2012 / 5:57 pm

    Oh that giraffe is so cute! Glad to know that you got the journal. And thanks as always for your kind words.

    Like

  3. spilledinkguy March 8, 2012 / 11:22 am

    Love your giraffe! I somehow forget how tall they really are. And my reaction to seeing them never fails to amuse my wife. I mean, obviously they’re tall… but, wow… they are really, really tall!
    🙂

    Like

  4. Andria March 8, 2012 / 7:13 pm

    Great giraffe, Mary! They are fabulous creatures to draw, aren’t they?

    Like

  5. lee March 11, 2012 / 5:23 pm

    love love your work, i love drawing giraffes, i am going to have a look at the link

    Like

  6. Kim Mailhot March 13, 2012 / 12:24 pm

    Love the wild doodle fun !
    Beautiful play, Mary !

    Like

Leave a Reply

