Each Day Matters…

It’s 79 degrees out there and the wind is howling.  We are under a severe weather alert for later in the day.  Tornado season seems to have kicked into high gear.

This week, I did two spreads for the round robin journal swap that I am participating in and got that sent off to Robin.  She sent me an email yesterday saying that she got it in the mail yesterday.  Joanne’s lettering class ended this week and I was sorry to see it end.  If you are still on the fence about taking her class…I don’t think you’d be sorry about taking it…she packed so many videos and other information in that class.  I think maybe I mentioned that before 🙂

I finished this page this morning. I started with a collage background and completely lost most of it under the paint.  I used dark purple, magenta, teal and yellow acrylic paints mixed with off white.  I painted everything with a brush… even the features on the face.  I used a Pentel Hybrid Technica pen for the squiggles and letters.

5 thoughts on “Each Day Matters…

  1. lee March 2, 2012 / 5:14 pm

    wow you did a fantastic job, i to enjoyed joannes class. I signed up for Sketchbook 2 with Alisha. I did sketchbook 1 and learned alot. I hope your safe with that howling wind, do you live where all the tornados are

    Like

  2. Janet March 2, 2012 / 9:30 pm

    Hoping you’re safe from the tornadoes. I’m thinking of you.

    Joanne’s class was one of the best I’ve taken in quite awhile. I thoroughly enjoyed it. And I really like this piece you painted. There’s something very appealing about the face, and the colors are great.

    Like

  3. Andria March 4, 2012 / 8:12 pm

    I still have so much left to do for Joanne’s class…it’s going to be the gift that keeps on giving for me! I like the way you do the hair in your portraits as circles/spirals. Sometimes it’s so hard to take a collage that you like and cover it with paint, but it can create such satisfying layers!

    Like

  4. spilledinkguy March 5, 2012 / 9:50 am

    Hope everything is okay where you are, Mary! This weather has been some pretty scary stuff!
    Awesome piece, too, of course! She really seems to sparkle!
    🙂

    Like

  5. Emelie March 5, 2012 / 7:08 pm

    The personality shiens in this face and background, yours and hers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

