Grids and Doodles…

I was looking at a face in a fashion magazine yesterday.  I wanted to sketch it but I also wanted to try for a more whimsical effect. I did two sketches with pencil on graph paper, then I went over the lines with my fine Sharpie marker.  The ideas seemed to flow  from there.  I planned to glue the faces into my BOD journal.  At first, I was going to paint the faces with acrylic paint…hence, the painted hair.  I picked up some Tombow  and Crayola markers and colored in a few places.  I was experimenting and liked the effects I was getting.  The Tombow markers act as watercolors when water is used with them.  I used water on the face on the right but not on the left face.  I couldn’t decide what kind of background to use but decided to use a doodle grid to echo the squares of the graph paper.   The last photo is a doodle page from earlier last week.

9 thoughts on “Grids and Doodles…

  1. MissKoolAid February 26, 2012 / 11:27 am

    Very cool! I love how they look on the doodle grid.

    Like

  2. Janet February 26, 2012 / 12:03 pm

    Love the faces on graph paper! And the background is perfect. Wow! You’re really on a roll.

    Like

  3. Aimeslee February 26, 2012 / 3:27 pm

    This is a gorgeous page. Don’t you just love graph paper? I do! xoxo

    Like

  4. lee February 26, 2012 / 7:30 pm

    I love those pages, the girls rock and so do the grids

    Like

  5. April Cole February 26, 2012 / 9:03 pm

    These are great! :]
    I haven’t really messed around with graph paper in along time… you have inspired me.

    Like

  6. spilledinkguy February 27, 2012 / 10:28 am

    Nice!
    I really like how you picked up that base element of squares in other areas of your piece, too (your doodles and the lipstick/dress/hair, etc…)
    Very cool!
    🙂

    Like

  7. Kim Mailhot February 28, 2012 / 4:26 pm

    Love these doodled girls and their whimsy !

    Like

  8. Andria March 4, 2012 / 8:13 pm

    These look so cool! It’s fun to see how you worked through it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

