New Journal…

I started a new journal yesterday. I am using a big book (9×11) that I picked up at our local library book sale.  I started to use a smaller book but I decided to go BIG.  It has slick pages…I will probably need to use a layer of gesso or glue down another paper layer before using paint.  On the red page, I used a face from my doodle sketch book.  On the second page,  I incorporated the original book photos  as part of my page.  The orignal book was a book about Eastern health practices…so….I may decide to use some other photos from the original book.  I tore out about half of the pages and plan to sandwich watercolor paper pages between the page stubs.  There are also pages I left in from the original book.  I am going to try and follow both Book of Days (see the badge over at the side) as well as 52 Play Dates over at Jan Fox Designs.  I didn’t do the goodbye page to 2011 as Effy suggested…it over now and I’m done with it 😀  

                                             

6 thoughts on “New Journal…

  1. Andria January 7, 2012 / 7:38 pm

    I like how you are going to incorporate the two project (BoD and 52 Playdates) into one journal….this will be fun to watch as it develops!

    Like

  2. lee January 8, 2012 / 10:37 am

    i love that idea 2 projects one book, how smart are you, I am doing the book, but so far only have the spine done, but not stressing I will catch up in my own time.
    Love Love the pages done so ar

    Like

  3. Jo January 8, 2012 / 10:01 pm

    I love your doodling style – graphic yet organic.

    Like

  4. spilledinkguy January 9, 2012 / 11:06 am

    Looks like your 2012 is off to a wonderful start, Mary!
    🙂

    Like

  5. April Cole January 10, 2012 / 4:51 pm

    Love it!
    Always fun to start a new art journal :]
    These pages are terrific.
    Happy New Year! *hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

