…and here I join Sunday Sketches….and should we use old books for art?

Greetings on this first day of November…(1.11.11).   I was over at my friend Janet’s blog and found out about Sunday Sketches over at Blue Chair Diary.  My understanding is that one can submit a sketch all during the week.  My entry is below. By clicking on the Blue Chair link, one can see all the other entries for the week.

Note:  I was too late for Sunday Sketches after all so I was wrong about submitting a sketch thoughout the week.  I can’t link back from Blue Chair on Mr.Linky 😦

I also wanted to address something that was left in a comment on the last post.  As a retired educator, I understand the reaction to “seeing books marked up.”  I always told my young students, you do not write in your books.  Here I am doing that very thing.   Most of the books that I am using to alter are discarded library books.  I have been getting  my old books at yard sales or from the local library sale.  I was using a 1970’s craft book as a journal a year ago.  Someone, in the blog world, a few years back, addressed the issue of using old books to alter, etc.  Hopefully,  someone reading this will remember it and leave a link back to it in a comment.

6 thoughts on “…and here I join Sunday Sketches….and should we use old books for art?

  1. Janet November 1, 2011 / 12:00 pm

    I understand about not wanting to mark in books. I was the same way. I sold used books online and it was always very disappointing to find a good book that had been written in….but now I happily draw in old, worthless books. There are tons of books out there that have no real value to anyone so why not use them.

    Love your sketch. Just save it and add it this weekend.

    Like

  2. lee November 1, 2011 / 3:13 pm

    I to agree with janet, about the books, old worthless books, that are broken down, I sketch in, or use in my art, I think then they are being used again, and have a new life.

    Like

  3. Emelie November 1, 2011 / 4:02 pm

    Very nice pages, creative and a different sort of look on each page yet they are alson consistant in a great way.

    I use old cook books, they are mine I can do what I want with them. I would never put marks on a loaned book from people or library or a favorite book of mine or a book that could be a collectible or antique. The other thing is the journals remain mine and not to reproduce or sell.

    Like

  4. Andria November 3, 2011 / 1:10 pm

    I think it is fascinating when people from long ago days make their mark in the margins of books. As an English major, I made it a common practice to write in the margins of my novels and books of poetry back in college. It was only a quick leap to using book pages for a million different art and craft projects. I think it’s a million times better than leaving them to get chucked into a landfill.

    Like

  5. spilledinkguy November 7, 2011 / 4:53 am

    I have to admit…
    I’ve used many a book for my own purposes as well…
    I don’t see it so much as defacing the object as transforming it into something with a new life… and I think you’ve got a wonderful example of that right here, Mary! Very nicely done!
    🙂

    Like

  6. Rosie November 13, 2011 / 8:39 am

    I agree with spilled ink guy – you put old unwanted books to great use Mary! Finding new stuff is really inspirational too – it tends to give me a new perspective on an old theme when I see something like the “bean counter” for instance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

