Doodles and journal pages…

I have never been a huge fan of the term, “doodles.”  I can’t explain why…maybe I think a fancier word should be used to describe what I’ve been doing 🙂   They aren’t really zentangles either. 

I took apart an old book because I wanted to used the covers for a new journal.  I was left with a book block all intact.  The original book was called Gas-House McGinty by James T. Farrel and published in 1933. It wasn’t until I tore the book apart that I looked up the author and one source  cited that  “Farrell wrote convincingly of America’s harsh social realities, those forces which circumscribe the destinies of ordinary individuals.”  He probably would be “occupying” some place or another if he were living today.  He is most famous for his book: Studs Lonigan.  I have been using the pages for some of my “doodles.”  Here are three of the ones I have completed:

 

Two Journal pages:

 

 

“The night walked

down the sky

with the moon in her hand.”

Frederick L. Knowles

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Doodles and journal pages…

  1. Janet October 23, 2011 / 2:19 pm

    No matter what you call them, they’re beautiful. The first girl is my favorite….I like the leaves around her head. I have so many old “useless” books; I should get them out and start drawing in them.

    That little quote at the end is great. I jotted it down so I’d remember it.

    Like

  2. Andria October 23, 2011 / 5:51 pm

    I understand what you are saying about the word “doodles”…I would call these full-fledge drawings myself! I especially like the second one with the bird. Great use of your book pages.

    Like

  3. Rosie October 26, 2011 / 2:53 am

    Yes they are more than doodles Mary!! They are like lino-cuts or wood-cuts for block printing… I love them!
    I have put a link to your blog on Facebook for a friend of mine (she’s Dutch but lives in Sweden!)… as she is waiting for her copy of Katherine Dunn’s book to arrive and I know you really enjoyed creating from yours. I hope that’s okay. Her name is Ria Vaneman, should she drop by!!

    Like

  4. katespin October 29, 2011 / 3:23 pm

    Oh I love the night sky page and the book pages too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

