More Impressions – Strathmore Journal

It’s been way too long since I have posted anything new. My younger sister and I have been helping out our niece with some child care…picking up the two little ones  from kindergarten and daycare…”it takes a village,”  my sister quipped.  We are happy to help 🙂 

I have been working in two different journals but I couldn’t find the time to take photos and get them posted…until now.  We are also going to go see The Help in about an hour.   I hope to get this finished before we leave for the movie.  I have been concentrating on faces in my Strathmore journal.  For these two, I have used mainly Caran d’Ache crayons, white gesso,  and Stabilo black pencil.  I also used a General’s 9xxB on one of them.  Both of them make bold black lines. 

 

5 thoughts on “More Impressions – Strathmore Journal

  1. Danielle September 27, 2011 / 6:49 pm

    These are great & I especially love your backgrounds.

    Like

  2. lee September 27, 2011 / 8:56 pm

    I also have been working in my strathmore journal, I happen to love them. I love your portraits,

    Like

  3. Andria September 28, 2011 / 10:02 am

    I love the background on that first portrait.

    Like

  4. spilledinkguy September 28, 2011 / 11:13 am

    Excellent pieces, Mary – they have such a cheerful feel to them
    (I love General’s charcoal pencils… I’ve lost count of how many 4B’s I’ve ground down to a stub)!
    🙂

    Like

  5. Janet September 28, 2011 / 5:33 pm

    Cool faces! I just got some 9XXB pencils and they’re great.

    Let me know how you like The Help….I loved the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

