First Impressions

I’m taking Katie Kendrick’s online class “Layered Impressions.”  Here are the first three faces I have done this week,  thus far.  I’m surprised I finished them as I have been running all over this week to medical appointments, etc….no, I’m not sick….just routine.  For these faces, as suggested by Katie, I’m using one of my favorite papers…old phone book pages.  I’m really enthused about this class.  I love Katie’s art and her teaching style.  These faces were done in my Strathmore Journal.

7 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Janet September 15, 2011 / 5:07 pm

    I like all of them but the first one is my favorite. Her face is great, and I like all the details in her hair and clothing.

    Like

  2. Mariette September 15, 2011 / 5:08 pm

    Love them all; but I would have to say the first is my fav.as well.
    Good work!

    Like

  3. Andria September 15, 2011 / 5:47 pm

    These are great! The first one is my favorite, too…I love her hair, her color, and the highlighted words in the background.

    Like

  4. peggy September 15, 2011 / 6:06 pm

    THese are so adorable!! i think you got the lesson for sure!

    Like

  5. Emelie September 15, 2011 / 7:58 pm

    Exciting to see the way ouar work can change, great faces, for a lot of reasons they are just faces of people that can be anywhere.

    Like

  6. spilledinkguy September 16, 2011 / 12:53 pm

    I really like all the sense of depth you’ve created with all that layered texture…
    very nicely done, Mary!

    Like

  7. Kim Mailhot September 20, 2011 / 2:46 pm

    I love love love the first one. The addition of that great collar is cool, plus the map ? paper hair. Love it !
    Enjoy !

    Like

Leave a Reply

