New Journal

Hello everyone!  I took an unannounced blog break.  I hope I have my “blah” days behind me now.  I didn’t finish the ICAD project but I’m not going to beat myself up over it…I have three cards I’ll show in a future post but that’s it for the cards….I had fun but it’s time to move on.

I did make a new journal.  I have decided,  I prefer the sewn over tape book method for making journals. The spine on this one  is covered with fabric from a worn out pair of blue jeans. The book covers are from an old Cokesbury Dinner and Banquet Book (rather obsolete these days, I think).  I named it “Iconographic Journal”  because I wanted something different from visual journal.  My favorite icon in this book will be trees.  I used some Stonehenge paper, old file folders, junk paper, and some thin watercolor paper.  In my next book, I plan to use all Stonehenge paper. It’s very heavy weight paper and you can paint, glue, or watercolor on it without any buckling.  I looked at several online art supply places and Daniel Smith has the best price at the moment. /I’m having problems with this post…I tried to post the link to Daniel Smith earlier and lost the entire post 😦    http://www.danielsmith.com/  If you haven’t tried Stonehenge, I highly recommend it…it comes in 22 x 30 inches sheets that can be torn or cut to any size. 

10 thoughts on “New Journal

  1. jenny September 6, 2011 / 11:51 am

    I don’t know if my last post sent or not-but I do like this very much!

    Like

  2. Andria September 6, 2011 / 12:46 pm

    Great journal…I especially like the blue jean binding. Great imagery, too!

    Like

  3. spilledinkguy September 6, 2011 / 1:14 pm

    Great looking journal, Mary!
    I think I’ve used Stonehenge before, and as I recall I really, really liked it (unless my memory is playing tricks on me, which is ALWAYS a possibility…)
    🙂

    Like

    • Janet September 6, 2011 / 3:27 pm

      I wondered where you were. I agree about the index cards….I’m finished with them, too.

      I like the blue jean fabric on the spine of this journal….and the pages look great. I’ve never used Stonehenge paper but recently I’ve seen it mentioned several times. I guess that means I better try it out.

      Like

  4. MissKoolAid September 6, 2011 / 4:36 pm

    Never tried Stonehenge paper. Will have to investigate.
    I really love the green page. Trees are such a good image to work with.
    Welcome back!
    Sophie

    Like

  5. lee September 6, 2011 / 8:24 pm

    i love the look of your journal very cool, yep I am done as well with ICAD i was going to go again, but I still could not do it.

    Like

  6. Danielle September 7, 2011 / 5:37 pm

    Blogging breaks are good! This journal is really fantastic. I love your pages.

    Like

  7. Rosie September 11, 2011 / 7:56 am

    I agree – to have a break from blogging or limit yourself is good. Keeps you fresh! Alternatively it stops you getting bored!
    I like this new journal – a lot! Love your leaves – depth and doodles – great combination Mary!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

