Dr. Seuss Inspired – Strathmore Journal

I tried to use some of the techniques I learned in Carla Sonheim’s class.  I don’t really like how it turned out so I probably won’t try this again….at least on a bigger piece.  I started with a paper collage base…gesso over that, and next,  two layers of watercolors. I used another layer of gesso and colored markers in certain areas.  I used a soft charcoal pencil to do some shading but I need to get some vine charcoal that Carla suggests using.  

I found out about Elizabeth at  Lost Coast Post when taking “Full Tilt Boogie” workshop.  She has a some great journal pages….definitely worth a look.  She did two mixed media works on canvas that are part of  “out of the journal’ challenge.  Below those posts are her “boogie” journal pages.

3 thoughts on “Dr. Seuss Inspired – Strathmore Journal

  1. spilledinkguy August 25, 2011 / 4:40 pm

    Very cool, Mary!
    (I think I might be related to the guy on the left.)
    Now I’m off to cook up some green eggs and ham!
    🙂

    Like

  2. Andria August 25, 2011 / 6:15 pm

    I know you say that you don’t like this piece, but I think it’s kind of fun!

    Like

  3. Lisa August 26, 2011 / 8:22 pm

    Wonderful! These are great:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

