Crazy Days of Summer – Journal Page

We went to see Larry Crowne yesterday. It is a great movie.  It stars Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts.  Hanks also directed and co-wrote it.  It’s one of the few adult movies showing right now as many of the movies seem to be geared towards the out-of-school crowd.  Some movie critics are saying that it’s too predictible….blah, blah, etc.   Sometimes, it is best NOT to listen to the naysayers…we loved the movie 😀

I completed this Strathmore journal page this morning.  I have the mixed media Strathmore and I love it.  You can used lots of water on it with very little buckling.  I started with a wash of Stream Reinkers ink followed with some white acrylic paint.  I also used Caran d’Ache crayons, pen, and my new Lyra 9B graphite crayon….it’s water soluble…another new tool that I really love to use.  I sanded the old postcard lightly with some sandpaper.  There are collage pieces from old magazines and other bits of paper.

3 thoughts on “Crazy Days of Summer – Journal Page

  1. spilledinkguy July 2, 2011 / 3:41 pm

    Haven’t seen Larry Crowne yet, so I don’t know about that, but I do know this looks like another wonderful image, Mary! Those cool tones look so refreshing on a day as hot as today! 🙂

    Like

  2. Janet July 4, 2011 / 11:34 am

    I very seldom pay any attention to the movie critics. So many times movies they hate are the ones I like.

    Your journal page looks so cool and refreshing. Blues and greens are perfect for lazy summer days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

