Composition Journal – #19 and Blackberry Winter

I was experimenting yesterday with charcoal pencils. Some time ago, I bought some Derwent Tinted Charcoal Pencils. On this page I used the Burnt Orange, Forest Pine, and Peat pencils. I also used a General’s Charcoal 6-B pencil.  I started with vivid red orange and cad yellow medium hue  acrylic paint on the background.  For the face area, I used unbleached Titanium, raw sienna and a little of the cad yellow and orange. The hair is raw sienna with black acrylic paint.  I did this in two stages….I used some charcoal over the paint and used hair spray as a fixative because I didn’t have anything else…and why not…..I never use hair spray…I think I’ve had this can around for about ten years 🙂  Anyway, today I went back with more paint and ended with more charcoal.  I think I’ll be trying this again. 

We are experiencing something here,  according to Ozarkian lore, that is called “Blackberry Winter.”  The wild blackberries are starting to bloom and whenever we have a cold snap around that time, it’s called blackberry winter.  My mom told me that she’s heard it called that as far back as she can remember.  

I found out about a new online art journaling class by Kelly Kilmer.  It’s called “The Journey of You” and will start on May 23rd.  The price is right…only $20.  After May 23rd, the price will go up to $25.  Go to her blog here and read about it on her May 9th post.

6 thoughts on “Composition Journal – #19 and Blackberry Winter

  1. Janet May 16, 2011 / 6:19 pm

    Wow! The face has such depth….I love it! I have not worked much with charcoal but this sure tempts me to get some.

    Like

  2. lee May 16, 2011 / 9:51 pm

    I agree with Janet great face, I work a little with charcoal and love it. I signed up for kellys class, not only do I love her, but the class was a great price.

    Like

  3. spilledinkguy May 17, 2011 / 9:31 am

    Hmmm…
    I’ve never used tinted charcoal before. It sounds like fun, though… and it looks like you are getting wonderful results!
    🙂

    Like

  4. Danielle May 18, 2011 / 10:58 am

    You are so talented! I wanted to thank you for my postcard. I can’t tell you enough how excited I was to have received the incredible one that I commented on & secretly coveted!. It was definitely my favorite & I still can’t get over the detail & intricacy. It was also the first card I received too.

    Like

  5. Jaime May 20, 2011 / 1:08 am

    She is beautiful. I’m so glad you shared with us the procedure.

    We have just experienced Blackberry Winter ourselves here in southern Indiana. I’ve always heard it called that around here. Kinda like Indian Summer in late September or October. We also have a Dogwood Winter here, how about you? (it’s come and gone). I’m ready for plain ol’ summer now 🙂

    Thank you so much for your kinds words today 🙂
    Jaime

    Like

Leave a Reply

