Fly a Kite – Composition#11

Earlier this week, I prepped three backgrounds in my composition book that I seem to go to again and again.   This page started with old painted phone book and magazine collage pieces. These are the shapes that appeared when I looked closely. I drew the shapes with a graphite pencil…added paint…and ended with some pen work.

If you have a Big Lots Store near you, check for artists canvas in various sizes. I found two per package,  4×6,  for $5.00 and one 11×14,  for $3.00.  They aren’t the ones with the wider sides but they have the staples on the back and look very well put together.

Here are some swaps going on this month and next.  The first one is “Feminine Frills,” a 6×6, girlie girl piece of art to trade one for one. It is being sponsored by Janet and Lee. Find out the particulars by going to either website.  

The second swap is rather ambitious.  It’s being sponsored by iHanna.  For this swap, you will need to make ten postcards.    4×6 inches is the most common size for postcards.  You will get postcards from ten different people from all over the world.  Hanna is in Sweden.  Check this out…they are to be sent out by April 8.

7 thoughts on “Fly a Kite – Composition#11

  1. iHanna March 12, 2011 / 9:16 am

    Thanks for the mention Mary! So glad you’re joining the postcard swap! 🙂

    Like

  2. MissKoolAid March 12, 2011 / 9:29 am

    Fun characters on your page. What kind of pen did you use? I like all the cross-hatching parts. Adds dimension and texture.
    I wish we had a Big Lots here. Those are really good prices for canvases.
    I’m also signed up for Hanna’s swap (not Janet and Lee’s though for lack of time.)
    Cheers,
    Sophie

    Like

    • Mary March 13, 2011 / 8:12 am

      I used a Sharpie Pen on this one. It will write over acrylics very nicely.

      Like

  3. Janet March 12, 2011 / 12:20 pm

    Thanks for mentioning the swap. Your journal page looks great. I’d love to fly a kite with those two! I like all the pen work you did and the flowers in the corner.

    Like

  4. Artswebshow March 14, 2011 / 5:14 pm

    Sounds like a great idea.
    Nice artwork and also i notice you re-decorated.
    Nice one

    Like

  5. spilledinkguy March 14, 2011 / 5:52 pm

    I’m a bit afraid of heights, but this is definitely another very cool piece!
    Nice work! 🙂

    Like

  6. lee March 15, 2011 / 8:39 pm

    I love your new look. I have joined the postcard exchange on working on postcard 4 as we speak, I need to step up production .I love your new page

    Like

Leave a Reply

