End of Winter Photos

It’s been a busy week.  My granddaughter was planning to come over today and visit with us but hubs got sick last night and we decided to postpone it until next week.  I did take some photos in the yard this afternoon. I am looking for some photos to practice sketching. Yes, I’m taking another class.  I’m taking Alisa Burke’s class,  Sketchbook Delight, that actually began last month. I have been watching the first few videos and I am enjoying it immensely.  I was looking for things with a lot of texture and contrast and here are some of the photos I took outside today:

 This a stump from a Mimosa Tree that we had cut down about three years ago.  It was scored to hasten its decaying process.

A close up of one of the succulent plants that made it through winter.

We have lots of rocks here in the Ozarks and this is a fine speciman…look at all the color and contrast.

 This little half decayed leaf is looking rather shabby after going through winter.

And this Dandelion is getting an early start.  It’s looking as if we’ll have another good “crop” of them in the backyard this spring.

(Click on any photo to get a closer look)

5 thoughts on “End of Winter Photos

  1. Janet March 5, 2011 / 1:01 am

    My favorite is the succulent….and then I like the decayed leaf. You will have plenty of things to sketch. It sounds like a fun class.

    Like

  2. spilledinkguy March 5, 2011 / 12:50 pm

    Great photos! I think the stump might be my favorite, but they are all very nice! I’m sure you will make some great drawings with these!

    Like

  3. Jane March 5, 2011 / 2:16 pm

    These photos are great, I like the stump, too. I think you’ll just love Alisa’s class, I’ve been enjoying it so much.

    Like

  4. Brigitte March 6, 2011 / 10:18 am

    You are so brave joining a sketching class. I am always afraid to draw, because I think I am really bad at drawing … Maybe I should try to sketch just for me, no posting on my blog allowed LOL Anyway, I finally had some time to work in my art studio, and made a few little somethings. Felt really good to get my hands dirty again !

    Like

  5. rdc March 6, 2011 / 11:06 am

    Love your pics! Keep them coming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

