Demure – Art Journal

The past few days have been gorgeous…a pleasant and welcome change from last week’s temperatures in the single digits.  Hubby had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and after that, we went out for a Valentine’s Day lunch.   While driving back, we noted that almost all the snow was gone except  for some spots in shady north slopes.  I think I’m getting spring fever!  I’m sure that will change and winter isn’t finished with us yet.

I started this page in my Strathmore journal yesterday evening after we got back home and finished it this morning.  I tried a different approach….I drew the face with a graphite pencil and then used some colored pencils to shade, etc.  I went over all that with clear gesso and let that dry.  I used acrylics paints…yellow, blue and red with lots of white.  I glued down the collage pieces.  The flowers and leaves were from some patterned tissue paper that I’ve had so long I don’t remember where I got it.  I never know what to do about hair.  I planned to glue down some more tissue paper but ended up using my black Stabilo pencil all around the page.  I used lots of water to give a watercolor effect. Have a great day wherever you are and whatever you are doing!

3 thoughts on “Demure – Art Journal

  1. Janet February 15, 2011 / 10:41 am

    She’s the perfect romantic page for Valentine’s Day. The colors are soft and dreamy and she seems to be thinking of her one true love! Beautiful!!

    Like

  2. Artswebshow February 15, 2011 / 5:44 pm

    I like this.
    From the right top part it slowly and irregularly fades into the florals on the left.
    Quite simple overall but you take a good look at its easy to appreciate the intricacies within this

    Like

  3. penpusherpen February 16, 2011 / 8:09 am

    Hello there,
    I am so sorry not to follow your ‘like’ of my Musical Question poem, I’ve only just been clearing my emails and the notification was there.. Many thanks.(you can tell from this how up to date and organised I am!! lol!!)
    Isn’t it amazing how we relish Spring, the rebirth season of the year, and fear celebrating it too soon, as Winter has many tricks up ‘her’ sleeve.
    I enjoyed your description of how you completed your collage, and the finished display looks so light and beautiful. A true Valentine treat…
    xPenx

    Like

Leave a Reply

