Mysterious Woman – Art Journal

Another page in my Strathmore Journal.  At first, I glued some of my painted phone book pages down but I didn’t like that so it was painted over with paints and inks.  Then more collage on top.  The face is two different magazine pictures that I fit together to compose a new face.  I altered the magazine pieces with more paints and inks.   The hair was a big red bow used in an  advertising campaign that was in most of the fashion magazines a few years ago.  I like the quirky look it gives to the composition.  The butterfly is an altered wallpaper decal .  The collaged Greek writing is from a text book about ancient civilizations.  I used a Stabilo marking pencil to give the collage pieces more depth.

3 thoughts on “Mysterious Woman – Art Journal

  1. Janet February 11, 2011 / 12:32 pm

    This is amazing! She really is very mysterious looking and very beautiful. I just love how you use so many things to create your pages. It truly is mixed media!

    Like

  2. Kate Robertson February 11, 2011 / 8:08 pm

    Oh I love this. You’ve got a fantastic background. Do you like the Strathmore Visual journal. I can’t get them locally so I really want to know if its worth while to get online. Are they better than other journals you have used?

    Kate

    Like

  3. Robert X. Jones March 5, 2011 / 1:19 pm

    You have a lot of cool thing on your blog, but I love this one. All the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

