Beauty – Art Journal

Beauty?… To me it is a word without sense because I do not know where its meaning comes from nor where it leads to.  ~Pablo Picasso

If I had this to do over, I wouldn’t give her the big chocolate chip earrings.  This is another page from my Strathmore Journal. I like working larger.  This is the second attempt at this face and I’m still not 100% happy with it.  I was trying to get rid of some old white acrylics craft paint and it wasn’t going on smoothly…the rest of that paint will find a place in the garbage.  I am happy with her eyes because it’s a departure from how I usually outline the eyes with pencil or black ink.

(ADDED LATER)-After I finished this post, I went to Sharon Tomlinson’s blog  and she posted an old Navajo prayer yesterday,  “Walking In Beauty”…go here to read it.  It’s amazing!

Here are some snow photos I took yesterday:


9 thoughts on “Beauty – Art Journal

  1. jenny February 8, 2011 / 9:47 am

    her eyes are beautiful. I actually really like the cropped picture.

    Like

  2. Sharon@norah'S February 8, 2011 / 10:16 am

    Hi Mary, Thanks for the shout-out. Sooooo cool. I love your girls eyes too. Beautiful and your snow pics are wonderful. I haven’t been around in a while, I love what you are doing.
    Thanks again,

    Like

  3. Sharon@norah'S February 8, 2011 / 10:18 am

    Me again, I forgot to tell you that I died laughing about the chocolate chip earings.

    Like

  4. Janet February 8, 2011 / 11:30 am

    You’re really out-doing yourself lately! This is fantastic! I think her face is beautiful. And I love the way you did her hair/hat. She has a certain mystique about her.

    I saw Sharon’s blog yesterday and I loved that Navajo prayer, too.

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Parsons February 8, 2011 / 1:42 pm

    Hi Mary,
    Thanks for stopping over at my blog! I really like your journal pages- you are very prolific!!
    all the best,
    Elizaebth

    Like

  6. Mariza February 8, 2011 / 10:02 pm

    LOVE!! wish I had something more constructive but that’s all I have… 🙂

    Like

  7. lee February 9, 2011 / 8:15 pm

    oh you did a great job, the face is perfect

    Like

  8. Artswebshow February 10, 2011 / 6:13 pm

    Nice artwort eith the face and i really like these snow pictures

    Like

  9. sukey February 15, 2011 / 8:44 pm

    i love this one..just the way it is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

