Journal-Outside the Box

Here’s the first page from my Strathmore Journal.  I had to get the mixed media journal as the others were sold out. It  is 9×12 inches and is 90 lb. weight paper.  The collage images are from old books and magazines.  There are also snips from a vintage pattern.  I tried to work quickly and be more spontaneous…I still need help with that 🙂  I lost the original lines of the girl’s behind so it looks bigger than it should.  I assure you that girl IS NOT  Jillian Michaels.  She,  for sure,  wouldn’t have a big butt!  😀

I am also showing some foam stampings  I made from scratch-foam.  I think any foam will work as long as it will hold impressions.  I used a sharp pencil to draw the impressions on the foam.  This foam is supposed to be used as an introduction to printing techniques.  It says on the box that  “it is sturdy enough to be drawn into, inked and printed by itself.”

 

I scanned  a section of the foam box:

 I made stampings from an ink pad but I have used these kind of stamps before and I think they make better imprints with acrylic paint.

Close up taken with my camera:

6 thoughts on “Journal-Outside the Box

  1. IHanna says hello. I have to agree with her. Your blog looks like it’s gonna be fun to play in. I’m going to have to come back when I have more time. Am rss’ing and following

    Like

  2. I don’t think you need any help! This looks fantastic! I love the soft, dreamy colors, and your stamps are great. I need to try some of that foam so I can get stamps bigger than an eraser.

    Like

Leave a Reply

