Neutral Shades

I’ve been working on this off and on all weekend.  I tried Misty Mawn’s neutral way of painting…it’s difficult!  I used Titanium White and Payne’s Gray mostly with a touch of Alizarin Crimson to finish.  Misty uses other colors of paints but I wanted to try this first.  I think it’s a little dark and there’s something about the eyes that I don’t like.  I used watercolor paper that had some collage pieces glued around the edges. 

I also noticed this weekend that Judy Wise and Stephanie Lee are going to be teaching an online class:  Plaster Studio  This class isn’t until June 13th. Their new book about the same subject is scheduled to be out in May of this year.

 

3 thoughts on “Neutral Shades

  1. Janet January 31, 2011 / 11:22 am

    I think she looks great! I love her eyes….they’re very intense.

    Like

  2. Artswebshow February 1, 2011 / 8:50 am

    This is one of my favourite portrait studies of yours so far.
    Partly because of the deeper tones around the eyes and forehead and partly because of the practically uncoloured nature of it.

    Like

  3. Rosie February 6, 2011 / 3:30 am

    Mary, in all honesty, are we ever happy with our portraits? I got lots of lovely comments over Nearly Naomi and all I could see what that the white highlights were stronger on the left eye than the right!! Daft, innit?
    I think she’s amazing… and I love the monochrome-y feel…

    Like

Leave a Reply

