Contemplation

I finished this last week…I was having difficulty with the paint going on smoothly on this Canson paper.  It is what it is.  I used Higgins Eternal Ink to outline part of the face and dress.

 

I tried a writing exercise as suggested by Misty Mawn for last week’s online class lesson.  We were to use the phrase “I am the” and finish with the first things that came to mind.  She suggusted listening to this video by Billy Collins.    Here is what I ended up writing…only I used “I am.”

I am getting older but far from done yet

I am over trying to be perfect

I am past the old ways of seeing myself

I am victorious, magnificent and unshakable

I am waiting, waiting for the next chapter

I am getting older but I am not done yet

7 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. Janet January 26, 2011 / 9:57 am

    I really like her! She has such a lovely expression on her face….as if she’s contemplating what you wrote. And I like your words, too. “I am getting older but I am not done yet”….me, too!!!

    Like

  2. Kate Robertson January 26, 2011 / 10:38 am

    I really like her expression too. I loved the video with Billy Collins, he is one of a few poets I really like. I like the exercise you did. Misty always comes up with amazing things to do. Glad to here you are loving her class, it shows.

    Like

  3. Rosie January 26, 2011 / 3:55 pm

    Love her face, Mary. It seems serene to me! I love the Moleskin entries too – especially the “I am…” exercise. You certainly are!

    I like the 3 Muses a lot. It’s busy and very varied. I use blog challenges like prompts. That works for me, unless it’s too restrictive or not of interest… then I ignore it and look for something else, or lately, I sketch!

    Funnily enough, I also find tidying my artspace stimulates my mojo! Whoda thunk it? ‘o)

    Like

  4. martha lever January 26, 2011 / 7:24 pm

    I really love her. What a beautiful face she has. She really is contemplating something important.

    Like

  5. Artswebshow January 26, 2011 / 7:36 pm

    Nicely done.
    That woman has a very peaceful expression

    Like

  6. allmimsey January 29, 2011 / 2:04 pm

    Mary, this is just beautiful!

    Like

  7. Michelle August 7, 2012 / 9:16 pm

    I love your artwork, especially this one. As others have said, the expression is great. I’ve looked through your blog and love the little art challenges you give yourself. I’m quite inspired and will definitely be looking out for more of your work 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

