Time Never Waits

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!  Now,  it’s count down until the new year…this year seemed to pass really fast for me.  I signed up for Misty Mawn’s “Stretching With Art” class.   It will begin on January 10…I’m really excited!  My quilt has kind of dominated my time lately. 

I did get downstairs and do some painting yesterday.  I put this on the Canson mixed media paper.  I started with a thin layer of gesso and gold paint.  I glued down some collage pieces, used color stix, inks and acrylic paints.  I used black India ink and my dip pen to add some details.  I called this piece, “Time Never Waits,” because it doesn’t and because of the spirals that seem to always show up in my art…times just rolls along. 

 

8 thoughts on “Time Never Waits

  1. You’re right….time doesn’t wait, and this year seemed to fly by. I’m finally playing in the studio today but nothing special. Just trying to get back into the habit of doing some art no matter how small.

    This page is so beautiful….layers, great colors, I love the pen work, and no matter how many times I look at it (and I have gone back to it several times already) I see something else. One of my favorites!

    Like

  2. Mary, this is amazing! I love your sense of play and colour. Time flies, doesn’t it?
    As far as Photoshop goes, I just scratch the surface to be fair… my DH is very clever at it but I haven’t the patience! However, if you want to have a go for free, try using the Picnik programme on Flickr or Picasa web – both are free and do basics. PSE is really cool and I know a lot of peeps use that program – Photoshop Elements…
    Happy New Year to you too! xx

    Like

  3. Hey there! A Happy Holiday Season to you, my new blogging friend! Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog today. I just have read several of your blog posts and I LOVE the quilt you are making!! I know you are having lots of fun putting it together! So, thanks for your visit, and I will be visiting you every so often also. Take care, pat

    Like

  4. Mary,
    This is wonderful! I found myself wanting to blow it up so I could see all the details…it is so richly layered. I completely identify with time flying and the spirals…I’m drawn to them and often find them lurking in my work. Wishing you all the best for a wonderful New Year and I look forward to more blog visits. I have so appreciated your comments on my pieces and have enjoyed seeing your work and hearing about your process.
    Gail

    Like

Leave a Reply

