Art Stitchery Quilt Blocks

I have three quilt blocks completed and two more put together but I have some hand stitching to do on those.   I’m mixing new embroidery pieces that I have done, old linen embroidery pieces, vintage handkerchiefs, and  fabric scraps that I’ve probably had long enough to be vintage. 🙂  I have several handkerchiefs that I have collected over the years.  I don’t feel badly about cutting those up because most of them are fairly fragile.  I’m putting these together crazy quilt style so I have another layer under each pieced block.   I have never done anything like this before so I’m making it up as I go along.  A lot of the hand work is done at night while I’m watching TV.  I need better lighting because I used dark purple on something thinking it was black.  I haven’t done embroidery work for many years…I went through a counted cross stitch faze in the 80’s…I had to find out how to do a French knot because I’d forgotten how to do it.   I found a great website that has little short videos showing how to do almost any stitch you would want to do:  http://www.needlenthread.com/videos

8 thoughts on “Art Stitchery Quilt Blocks

  1. allmimsey December 8, 2010 / 7:57 pm

    Wonderful stitching! Love how you are figuring out as you go along. The new with the old is just lovely.
    Gail

    Like

  2. Janet December 9, 2010 / 11:37 am

    Oh, your quilt is looking fantastic! I love how you’re using bits and pieces from hankies and other vintage materials along with your embroidery. So clever….I can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

    Like

  3. snoozerider December 9, 2010 / 3:40 pm

    This is going to be absolutely lovely. Making it up as you go along is the best way to go IMO 🙂

    Like

  4. sueokieffe December 13, 2010 / 1:11 pm

    your embroidery is charming, and makes me all nostalgic for my gramma

    Like

  5. Joanna Teague December 14, 2010 / 1:35 pm

    Thats a great quilt. I have been thinking about embroidering a quilt. i should stop thinking about it and get on and do it!

    Like

  6. Jessica W. December 18, 2010 / 11:33 pm

    Wow! Your work is beautiful! I went back thru your older posts to and I really enjoyed you journal pages. Nice work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

