Trying for Whimsy

I used the Canson acrylic paper again for this piece.  I was trying to do a whimsical face but every time I try for that look, it comes out looking too realistic to be whimsical.  Anyone else know what I’m talking about?  I used raw seinna and gold on the background.  I’m too lazy to go downstairs to see what other colors I used….I know I used cobalt blue and green gold.  I drew the lines with a black Stablio marking pencil.  Yikes, I didn’t realize that the neck area is so dark!  I can see that it needs more dimension…the whole thing needs “something.” 🙂

 

Here’s the same photo in grey tones, I actually think I like this one better, it isn’t as stark as the color one:

Happy Thanksgiving Day to all my US readers!

Let’s give Thanks!

 

6 thoughts on “Trying for Whimsy

  1. Janet November 22, 2010 / 6:17 pm

    I haven’t tried doing any whimsical faces yet. I like the face you did here even it isn’t what you wanted. The blue hair is great!! And she isn’t a little blue-haired lady either!

    Like

  2. lee November 22, 2010 / 10:43 pm

    I think you did a great job on both

    Like

  3. Jenny - hill and a tree November 24, 2010 / 12:56 am

    Knave exactly the same issue – I get somewhere between realistic and whimsical every time v

    I love this though, it’s got real style.

    Like

  4. Artswebshow November 25, 2010 / 5:13 am

    I know exactly how you feel regarding this.
    I think just a little more work can kick this up a lot

    Like

  5. Mme Konkokto November 29, 2010 / 8:14 am

    hi Mary! maybe use more surreal features or decorative elements to make it look more surreal ? just suggesting this since you want to make it look more whimsical. I think it’s great the way it is. 🙂 I like the blue a lot – in general, and the eyes are eye-catching, too. the blue and green hair is great. I like interesting faces. you’ve got a wonderful blog ! cheers, Mme K

    Like

  6. mrs. neutron's garage December 3, 2010 / 6:30 am

    It was so nice to read someone else is interested in putting something silly in the world. It has been my Life’s Work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

