Christmas Jars & Orbs in the Dark

If you are looking for a cute decorating idea for Christmas or any time, then look no further than Tif’s blog over at dottie angel.  She is all about using what you have around the house.  She even pledged  “to buy only handcrafted or secondhand goods for my house and my own closet,”  for one year. She started that time period last year in September.  You’ll have to visit her blog to see how she did that.  Back to the cute and thrifty idea for Christmas…Tif calls them “gleeful jam  jars.”  You start with any kind of jar…I got permission to post two of her photos here:

Click on this link to find out about Tif and   ”the ramblings of dottie angel ”  and other photos of how she made these jars:  http://dottieangel.blogspot.com/

 

I also finished another piece, very dark, done on a piece of old calendar from the 1970’s.  I don’t remember all the paint colors I used.  But I used  Reinkers in shades of lettuce and stream.

8 thoughts on “Christmas Jars & Orbs in the Dark

  1. Janet November 15, 2010 / 6:41 pm

    Thanks for the link. Those candle jars are great! And easy, too….my kind of project!

    Love the orbs in the dark piece. It has a Christmas feel to it….or maybe I’m starting to get in the mood.

    Like

  2. jenny November 15, 2010 / 11:47 pm

    very pretty…they do seem to glow.

    Like

  3. Brigitte November 16, 2010 / 10:08 am

    I love the Christmas jars ! I am so not into needlework, but I think even I could pull these off 😉 Thanks for your sweet comments on my paintings, I’m having so much fun ! The squares in the painting are some fabric, some wallpaper samples, and pieces of cardboard 😉

    Like

  4. Kate November 16, 2010 / 2:49 pm

    Oh I love the orbs in the dark piece. Circles are one of my favorite images to use. Plus hte colors you used are awesome.

    Like

  5. R November 18, 2010 / 12:36 pm

    Reminds me of Christmas ornaments, love the colors!

    Like

  6. sukey November 19, 2010 / 2:18 pm

    love the “dark” circles!

    Like

  7. Artswebshow November 20, 2010 / 8:00 pm

    That’s a pretty cool idea as regards craft.
    Nice piece of abstract artwork there to finish of the post too.
    Nice one

    Like

  8. allmimsey December 6, 2010 / 9:11 am

    This painting is beautiful…it looks luminous and rich. Wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

