Dark Secrets

I used Canson acrylic paper for this.  It comes in a pad (110 lb. weight)  and has a canvas like texture.  I will be working with it again as another alternative to watercolor paper.  The background is a mixture of acrylic paints, green ink and some  Adroindack reinkers.  After I got the background like I wanted it, I let it dry thoroughly and then glued on the collage pieces.  They were from a page of my favorite collage papers…the painted phone book pages.  I had some black ink doodling and Caran d’ache crayons on it but I didn’t like that so I wiped it all off.  I’m not really happy with the way it turned out but I didn’t know what else to try.  I’m still stitching away on my embroidery projects….I have the sampler finished and I’ve been working on some smaller pieces.  I hope to eventually turn all my pieces into a quilt…inspired by Pam Garrison…check out her blog… the link is over on the right.

More Fall Color in Arkansas from in my yard…

8 thoughts on “Dark Secrets

  1. Janet November 2, 2010 / 10:22 am

    I have some of that canvas paper, too. I’ve used it a few times and it’s good.

    You must have been inspired by the autumn colors in your yard! Beautiful!!!

    Like

  2. Brigitte November 2, 2010 / 10:23 am

    LOL about the deer ! He has three girlfriends, no need to make such a fuzz … O well, that’s nature I guess 😉 I like your painting, lots of interesting colors. And we don’t need to create masterpieces all the time, it is also fun to play and experiment ! Love your fall photos, and I love Pam’s stitching. I am no good with needle and thread (sp?) and I admire people who are. Have fun !

    Like

  3. Kate November 2, 2010 / 10:52 am

    I have always looked at that paper but not bought it since i have so much stuff but I love the look of this. I think I’ll pick some up the next time its on sale.

    Like

  4. lee November 2, 2010 / 10:47 pm

    thanks for the tip on the paper, I think it turned out great, and those autunm colors are to die for

    Like

  5. sukey November 3, 2010 / 8:00 am

    i like it, does that count!

    Like

  6. Rosie November 3, 2010 / 12:51 pm

    I like it! The acrylic paper looks good Mary! You could always stitch round your main shapes with a contrasting colour and see whether that inspires you to add to it? You could cut out some large words and play around with adding them to your painting?
    But, I love the colours! =)

    Like

  7. Heather Foust November 7, 2010 / 9:57 am

    I will have to check out that paper. Very nice! I love the colors!

    Like

  8. Lavender Dreams November 10, 2010 / 6:56 pm

    What beautiful color in your art…and your yard! I know something else we have in common! I was born and grew up in Arkansas! I can’t wait to find out where you live! I grew up in Arkadelphia and still have lots of family there! Hugs! ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

